The History of the Eurovision Song Contest is broad and grand. Since 1956, we’ve experienced over 1,000 performances of over 1,000 mind-boggling, extraordinary and strange songs.

So, let’s begin by talking through the history of the Eurovision Song Contest.

It all began in the early-1950s.

Cool Facts & Information

  • The largest amount of countries to take place in the Eurovision Song Contest, is 43 (2008, 2011 & 2018)
  • In 1969, there were four winners! There was no tie-break criteria so the title was given to all four countries with the same amount of points (Spain, France, United Kingdom & the Netherlands)
  • The United Kingdom gave zero points to world-famous Swedish pop-group ABBA in 1974.
  • A Eurovision song cannot exceed three minutes.
  • Spain won the 1968 Eurovision Song Contest with the song ‘La La La’, featuring 138 ‘la’s’
  • In 1978, Israel won the contest, but broadcasting country Jordan decided to show a picture of flowers during their winning reprise and voting victory. They later announced that the winner of the contest was Belgium, who came second.
  • The youngest Eurovision participant ever was Jean Jacques, who represented Monaco at the 1969 contest at 12 years old. The oldest Eurovision participant to-date is Emil Ramsauer who represented Switzerland in 2013 at 95 years of age.
  • The Eurovision Song Contest has began, since the beginning of the contest, with ‘Te Deum’, composed by Marc-Antoine Charpentier.
  • The first Eurovision Song Contest to be broadcast in colour was the 1968 contest, held in the United Kingdom, at the Royal Albert Hall.
  • Romania selected their participant for Eurovision 2016 via a whole selection process, but was later disqualified for unpaid debts.
  • Cyprus is the longest-running country to have never won the contest.
  • The shortest Eurovision song came in 2015, with Finland being represented by the song ‘Aina Mun Pitää’ which only lasts 1 minute and 27 seconds.
  • Georgia withdrew from the 2009 contest due to major controversy regarding their song ‘We Don’t Wanna Put In’. The contest was being held in Russia, with President Putin as leader. The EBU (European Broadcasting Union) banned the song from competing in the contest unless the lyrics were changed. Georgia decided not to change the song.
  • The Eurovision Song Contest has featured two guest appearances from mainstream musical artists, both from America. Justin Timberlake in 2016 and Madonna in 2019.
  • Norway has came last in Eurovision nine times, 1963, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1978, 1981, 1990, 1997 and 2001.
  • The Eurovision Song Contest began in 1956.
  • There are two Eurovision contest where there is missing footage, 1956 and 1964. The 1956 contest was mainly broadcast on radio, but a snippet of the Reprise of winning country Switzerland is still available. The 1964 footage was lost in a fire at the Danish TV Stations. It is unknown if other European television stations own any footage. There is still around 50 seconds worth of the winning song in public domain.