Melodifestivalen 2020: 28 acts announced!

The Eurovision website has released the names of all participants in the upcoming Melodifestivalen competition set to begin on the first Saturday in February. The six-week competition attracts Swedes (and more) to the stage – even well-established ones like Zara Larsson, who performed as an interval act in 2017.

Zara Larsson performing a medley at Melodifestivalen 2017.

The 28 acts, chosen from 2,545 submissions, are as follows:

Semi-final 1 – Saturday 1 February – Linköping

  • Malou Prytz – Ballerina
  • Felix Sandman – Boys With Emotions
  • OVÖ – Inga problem (No problems)
  • The Mamas – Move
  • Suzi P – Moves
  • Sonja Aldén – Sluta aldrig gå (Never stop walking)
  • Robin Bengtsson – Take A Chance

The Mamas were the backing choir behind John Lundvik in Eurovision 2019. Their song, “Too Late for Love”, finished in fifth place overall.

Robin Bengtsson won the ticket to Kyiv 2017. His song, “I Can’t Go On”, also finished in fifth place overall.

Returning for more competition this year are Malou Prytz (2019), Felix Sandman (2017 with FO&O, 2018 solo, interval act in 2019), and Sonja Aldén (2006, 2007, 2012).

Semi-final 2 – Saturday 8 February – Göteborg

  • Linda Bengtzing – Alla mina sorger (All my sorrows)
  • Dotter – Bulletproof
  • Anna Bergendahl – Kingdom Come
  • Thorsten Flinck – Miraklernas tid (The time of miracles)
  • Klara Hammarström – Nobody
  • Paul Rey – Talking In My Sleep
  • Méndez feat. Alvaro Estrella – Vamos Amigos (Come on, friends – Spanish)

Anna Bergendahl represented Sweden in 2010. She has the dubious distinction of singing Sweden’s only non-qualifying entry this decade, finishing 11th in her semifinal. She also competed in Melodifestivalen 2019.

Anna Bergendahl performing “This Is My Life” in Oslo for Eurovision 2010. She received 11th place in her semifinal.

Returning to the stage are Linda Bengtzing (2005, 2006, 2008, 2011, 2014, 2016), Dotter (2018; interval act with Måns Zelmerlöw in 2019), Méndez (2002 as DJ Méndez, 2018), and Alvaro Estrella (2014, backing dancer for Danny Saucedo in 2012 and Robin Bengtsson in Kyiv 2017).

Semi-final 3 – Saturday 15 February – Luleå

  • Faith Kalembo – Crying Rivers
  • Amanda Aasa – Late
  • Albin Johnsén – Livet börjar nu (Life begins now)
  • Drängarna – Piga & dräng (Maid and servant)
  • Mariette – Shout It Out
  • Anis Don Demina – Vem e som oss (Who is like us)
  • Mohombi – Winners

This is the first and only semifinal without a previous Melodifestivalen winner and Eurovision participant.

Returning to the stage are Albin Johnsén (songwriter in 2015 (“Det rår vi inte för” (We can’t help it, Behrang Miri feat. Victor Crone)), performer in 2016), Mariette (2015, 2017, 2018), Anis Don Demina (2019, saxophone player for Samir + Viktor’s “Shuffla” (2018)), and Mohombi (2019).

Newcomers Faith Kalembo and Amanda Aasa both competed in P4 Nästa, and Aasa won her spot in Melodifestivalen from there.

Semi-final 4 – Saturday 22 February – Malmö

  • Hanna Ferm – Brave
  • Nanne Grönvall – Carpool Karaoke
  • William Stridh – Molnljus (Cloudlight)
  • Jakob Karlberg – Om du tror att jag saknar dig (If you believe I miss you)
  • Ellen Benediktson & Simon Peyron – Surface
  • Victor Crone – Troubled Waters
  • Frida Öhrn – We Are One

Participants Nanne Grönvall and Victor Crone have both participated in Eurovision, in 1996 with “Den vilda” in the group One More Time and in 2019 with Estonia’s song “Storm”, respectively. Grönvall has competed in Melodifestivalen in 1986 and 1987 (as a member of group Sound of Music), 1992 (twice) and 1995 (as a composer), 1998, 2003, 2005, 2007, and 2019 (composing “I Do”, performed by Arvingarna).

Returning to the stage are Hanna Ferm (2019), Ellen Benediktson (2014, 2015; stand-in for Eurovision 2013), Simon Peyron (lead singer of Outtrigger, who competed in 2014), and Frida Öhrn (2004 with LaRoxx, 2009 and 2013 with Cookies ‘N’ Beans).

Ellen Benediktson singing “L’enfer et moi” (Hell and me, France 2013) at a stand-in rehearsal.

After the four semifinals, those who received third and fourth place will compete against each other in a Second Chance show. Those who advance will join with the top two televote finishers from each semifinal in Stockholm on 14 March. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.